Pacific Rim Win Outstanding Visual Effects HPA Awards 2013

Los Angeles, CA — The 2013 HPA Awards took place last week, on Friday, November 7, celebrating talent and innovation in 12 creative categories as well as in three special honors. The HPA Awards recognize individuals and companies for outstanding contributions made in helping to create features, television programs, spots, and entertainment enjoyed around the world. Presented by the Hollywood Post Alliance — the professional organization for the post production community – the 8th Annual HPA Awards took place at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, in front of a sold out audience of industry insiders and luminaries.

As announced previously, Avid was honored with the prestigious Charles S. Swartz Award for Outstanding Contribution in the Field of Post Production. Avid President and CEO Louis Hernandez, Jr. accepted the Award on behalf of the company. Other special awards were presented, which included honors for Engineering Excellence, and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production.

The winners of the 2013 HPA Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3



Mike Sowa // Technicolor


“Anna Karenina”

Adam Glasman // Company 3


“Life of Pi”

David Cole // Technicolor 


“Pacific Rim”

Maxine Gervais // Warner Bros. Motion Picture Imaging


“Iron Man 3”

Steven J. Scott // Technicolor


“Man of Steel”

Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

“Castle – Hunt”

Anthony Smith // Encore Hollywood


“Behind the Candelabra”

John Daro // FotoKem


“Hell on Wheels – Slaughterhouse”

Steven Porter // MTI FILM


“Game of Thrones – Kissed by Fire”

Joe Finley // Modern VideoFilm


“CSI: Crime Scene Investigation – Ghosts of the Past”

Paul Westerbeck // Encore Hollywood


Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial

Call of Duty “Masks”

Dave Hussey // Company 3

Louis Vuitton “L’Invitation Au Voyage”

Tim Masick // Company 3

Procter & Gamble: Thank You, Mom “Best Job”

Adam Scott // The Mill


Under Armour “Brought to You by Under Armour”

Tom Poole // Company 3


Mercedes-Benz “Soul”

Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3


Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

“Zero Dark Thirty”

William Goldenberg, A.C.E. and Dylan Tichenor, A.C.E.



Jeremiah O’Driscoll


“Les Miserables”

Melanie Ann Oliver and Chris Dickens, A.C.E.


“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. and MaryJo Markey, A.C.E.



William Goldenberg, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Television

“Breaking Bad – Gliding Over All”
Kelley Dixon, A.C.E.


“Dexter – Are You…?”

Louis Cioffi, A.C.E.


“Downton Abbey – Series 3, Episode 5”

John Wilson, A.C.E. // Carnival Film & Television


“Breaking Bad – Dead Freight”

Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.


“American Horror Story: Asylum – Welcome to Briarcliff”

Joe Leonard and Bradley Buecker, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

Verizon Wireless “Big Vision”

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial


Nextel/Ferrari “Combustion”

Doobie White // Therapy Studios


Verizon Wireless “Brothers”

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial


Obama for America “Lena’s First Time”

Cristina Rackoff // Big Sky Editorial


Ragu “Hamster”

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

“Gangster Squad”

Cameron Frankley and Dean Zupancic // Warner Bros. Sound

Jason W. Jennings and Jon Taylor, CAS



Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn

John Reitz and Gregg Rudloff // Warner Bros. Sound


“Pacific Rim”

Scott Gershin // Formosa Group

John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Timothy O. LeBlanc // Warner Bros. Sound


“Iron Man 3”

Mark Stoeckinger, Michael Keller, Mike Prestwood Smith and Andrew DeCrisofaro // Todd/Soundelux



Richard King and Michael Babcock // Warner Bros. Sound

Andy Nelson // Fox Studios Post Production Services

Outstanding Sound – Television

“Banshee – Pilot”

Brad North, Elmo Ponsdomenech, William Freesh, Luis Galdames and Tiffany Griffith // Universal Sound


“Dexter – A Beautiful Day”

Pete Elia, CAS; Kevin Roache, CAS; Fredric Judkins, MPSE; Christian Buenaventura and John Snider // Technicolor Creative Services


“The Americans – Mutually Assured Destruction”

Ken Hahn, James Redding and Neil Cedar // Digital Cinema, LLC


“Homeland – Beirut Is Back”

Alan Decker and Nello Torri // Universal Sound

Craig Dellinger, Larry Long and Jonathan Golodner // Sony Pictures Studios


“Game of Thrones – The Climb”

Paula Fairfield, Brad Katona, Jed Dodge, Onnalee Blank and Mathew Waters // Todd AO


Outstanding Sound – Commercial

Honda “Hands”

Anthony Moore // Factory


Lurpak “Weave Your Magic”

Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios


Barclaycard “Toys”

Sam Robson // Factory


Nextel/Ferrari “Combustion”

Doobie White // Therapy Studios


Lurpak “Good, Proper Food”

Dan Beckwith // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

“Man of Steel”

Keith Miller, Daniel Barrett, Phillip Leonhardt, Thelvin Cabezas and Mark Tait // Weta Digital


“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Dan Pearson, Jay Cooper, Alex Prichard and Adrien Saint Girons // Industrial Light & Magic

Adam Watkins // Pixomondo


“Iron Man 3”

Guy Williams, Aaron Gilman, Matt Aitken, Dan Macarin and Thrain Shadbolt // Weta Digital


“Pacific Rim”

Lindy DeQuattro, Eddie Pasquarello, Nigel Sumner, Derrick Carlin and Chris Lentz // Industrial Light & Magic


“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”

Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White and Eric Reynolds // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

“Banshee – Pilot”

Armen Kevorkian, Mike Oakley, Jeremy Jozwik, Andranik Taranyan and Gevork Babityan // Encore VFX


“Under the Dome – Pilot”

Stephan Fleet, Matthieu Perin, Jeremy Jozwik, Chad Schott and Arutyun Arthur Sayan // Encore Hollywood


“Game of Thrones – Valar Dohaeris”

Joe Bauer and Jabbar Raisani

Jorn Grosshans and Sven Martin // Pixomondo

Doug Campbell // Spin VFX


“Magic City – Angels of Death”

Mark Velazquez, Seth Brower, Doug Ludwig, Jeremy Jozwik and Chad Schott // Encore Hollywood


“Hawaii Five-0 – La O Na Makuahine”

Armen Kevorkian, Jeremy Jozwik, Rick Ramirez, Gevork Babityan and Andranik Taranyan // Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

Galaxy “Chauffeur”

Simon French, William Bartlett, Stephen Cullingford and Grant Walker // Framestore


Johnnie Walker “Where Flavour Is King”

Colin Renshaw // Alt.vfx


Kia “Space Babies”

Brian Burke, Charles Abou Aad, Jordan Harris and Patrick Ferguson // Method Studios

Abbott’s Village Bakery “Free Range”

Colin Renshaw // Alt.vfx


Qualcomm Snapdragon “Coming Soon”

James Dick, Andy Rowan Robinson, Shayne Ryan and Russell Dodgson // Framestore

A number of special awards, which had been announced earlier, were bestowed during the evening including:

HPA Engineering Excellence Award sponsored by NAB Show

  • DTS, Inc. – MDA
  • NVIDIA – NVIDIA GRID™ Visual Computing Appliance (VCA)
  • Sony Pictures Imageworks and The Foundry – FLIX
  • Telestream – 16 bit 4:4:4:4 Transcoding Technology

HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production:

Park Road Post Production
Next Generation Feature Film Workflow: Enabling HFR 48FPS Stereoscopic 3D On Set to On Screen

Source: Hollywood Post Alliance